When do I grow up?


Yes, I know it’s been a while since I’ve written. I guess in defense of myself I can say I’ve been reeealllly busy. Why is it that the slower work is, the more we work? I feel like I haven’t had a moment to catch my breath.

On a good note I have to say my MS has been good (not to jinx it). I have been feeling a little icky these last couple days, but I think that’s because I have some stomach bug. I’m hoping there is a correlation.

But to my growing up question. As work ground to a halt I began rethinking my future. I’m 40 years old, and not sure where my future is headed. As I watched my husband stress over the slow home building industry I began to wonder about the future. Yes, I work. But part of what I do is working for him. So when he’s slow, so am I. So I began toying with the idea of going back to school to be a teacher.

I regret that I never did that to start. I did the things I wanted to do – I worked, started a business ( a few to be exact) but I always loved my time teaching. Maybe because I like to talk. So I started investigating what was involved in becoming an English teacher. I need credits, I need to go back for another Masters . . . all attainable. But this tenuous time in our world-schools are laying off, cut-backs are happening. Am I crazy to think of this now? I’m taking a class right now that I really enjoy, and it’s still got me thinking. But on the other hand, business is picking up again, so do I focus on that? I’m not sure what to do anymore. My heart tells me to pursue the teaching dream, but my head is telling me to keep things status quo, so I can be here for Matthew.

I wish I had a crystal ball to help me decide!

One thought on “When do I grow up?

  1. You would be a good teacher. But, I think, depending on what grade you taught, you’d have to keep your quick wit and mouth in check! Follow your head and heart. Life can be too short.

Leave a Reply

