These boots were not made for walkin’


I again apologize for my lack of blogging. I have been a little under the weather. My diverticulosis has flared up and I had a whopping attack of diverticulitis. Very long and painful story short, I may be having some surgery to remove the infected and nasty piece of my intestine. So I am going to meet with a surgeon this month to see if I am a good prospect for this. I am kind of hoping for it so I can eat burger and salad and corn and nuts again! I have lost quite a bit of weight, which I can ill afford. So it may be my best option. I am approaching the whole thing with an open mind. But I can always find a humorous part of it all . . .

A few weeks ago the infection was starting, but I didn’t know it. I just knew I was having some horrible stomach pains and some panicked trips to the bathroom. Well, I had been dealing with this for about 4 days and I was used to it (as much as you can get used to it). During this time, I received my new riding boots that I had ordered. Brand spanking new tall black leather riding boots.

Now, these boots are as stiff as wood. You have to wear them quite a few times to break them in and get what they call the “drop”, where the leather breaks in enough and starts to have some wrinkles around the ankles so the boots drop under your knee. But until they are broken in and they drop I had to walk very stiff legged. I couldn’t wait to put them on, so one Saturday I decided to put them on with my jammies and just start walking around in them. And were they tight! I couldn’t bend my knees at all. So I was putzing around the kitchen when all of a sudden the pain hit and I had to go to the bathroom, right then. So I walked, stiff-legged, as fast as I could to the bathroom. By the time I got there, it was borderline emergency. My problem? I couldn’t bend my legs to sit down. As the sweat started to appear on my forehead, I struggled with how to get my legs bent. I finally ended up just throwing myself backward and let my legs fly out in front of me.

I did what I went in there for, as well as I could. But then came the problem of getting up. How do I get up if I can’t bend my legs. I started to have images of the woman who was stuck in her bathroom for 2 years and the toilet grew onto her legs. After many attempts, I did finally make it up without having to call 911.

I have been wearing the boots and they are much more broken in then then were a few weeks ago. My stomach is still acting up, but I don’t wear the boots in the house.

3 thoughts on “These boots were not made for walkin’

  1. I don’t know how you do it! You are in serious pain and yet find a way to laugh about it! I was LOLing but then stopped and thought…wait…I’m laughing about her being in pain! I laughed anyway! I hope everything goes well,and you are not in pain anymore. You are a trooper. I’m thinking about you. Let me know if you need anything!

Leave a Reply

