MS awareness week


   This week has been declared MS Awareness Week by New York State. (Technically it was declared by Eliot Spitzer, but let’s not go there) This is the week to spread the news and awareness about MS. You can read the MS Awareness Week Proclamation here. Also, check out the Empire State Building lights on Monday, March 10 when they will turn orange to launch National MS Awareness Week and visit www.msupstateny.org later in the week to see photos.

Yesterday I manned a booth at the mall for the MS Society. It was to increase awareness about the disease. Many people looked over a smiled, but few stopped. Two women came over and gave me money and said, “This is for the cause.” Most though, just continued on their way, thinking about the new shirt or shoes they were looking to buy. As I sat there I thought about it: How many times have I done the same thing? Walked by a booth that was for the Cancer Society, the Heart Association, etc.? From now on, I’ll make a point to stop. To find out about these illnesses and those afflicted. In the 15 years since my diagnosis, sitting at that table hit me the hardest. In a way I felt like I was on display. No one knew I had MS, but I felt like I was on stage, and in a way I felt strange, and in another way I felt happy. Strange that I had the disease, happy that I could help others understand it.

What can  you do? You don’t have to have MS to be able to help the movement.

What will you do?

Ways To Join The MS Movement

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society invites people across the county to join the movement to move us closer to a world free of MS by taking simple actions throughout the week, as part of a worldwide “Seven Days of Action.” These activities, just a click away, are designed to be meaningful and easy, whether you are a newcomer or longtime member of the MS Movement. They include:

– Visiting http://www.nationalMSsociety.org daily during MS Awareness Week for new tips and updates on what others are doing to help end MS

– Emailing your members of Congress about the need for increased funding for MS research

– Signing up for a Walk MS or Bike MS event

– Raising awareness by going orange, the color signifying MS and the National MS Society – there are hats, t-shirts, clings, clips and jewelry available for those who want to show they are a part of the MS Movement

– Signing up to volunteer

– Making your mark against MS or sharing your story at http://www.nationalMSsociety.org

– Supporting the Society – every donation brings us closer to a cure

“MS Awareness Week is the perfect time to join the movement to help end MS,” said Joyce Nelson, President and CEO of the National MS Society. “It is also the ideal time to recognize the millions of individuals who are already a part of the movement and each day make a difference in the lives of people who have MS.” Read more about Join the Movement.

2 thoughts on “MS awareness week

  1. Hi, I apologize for the ‘form’ letter but it is the easiest way to pass word most quickly.

    I am thrilled with the response to the MS Blogger project started at my blog, Brass and Ivory. I appreciate all those who took time to post about it on their blogs. I have discovered even more bloggers who have MS, whether they blog about the MS or not. A new listing is available at MS Blogger Community Project Revised.

    Secondly, I’m looking for submissions for next week’s Carnival of MS Bloggers. Information can be found at the end of each issue archived at Carnival of MS Bloggers. What I’m looking for this week are posts related to creativity. I discovered so many new bloggers who quilt, or knit, or crochet, or write, or photograph, etc. Basically, what do you do to express yourself?

    Thank you so much for participating.

    Lisa Emrich

    P.S. I also apologize for any increased ‘spamming’ of blog comments due to my growing linklist of bloggers with MS. For that I am sincerely sorry.

Leave a Reply

