Too much information?


It has been another one of “those” months. Again, the blog was quiet for most of February. Matthew spent most of the month sick. I swear, once they start school they are turned loose into the “germ factory”. Every little bacteria known to man gravitates to schools and holes up there, waiting for unsuspecting children to enter through the doors. So we have battled fevers, chills, coughs, etc., etc., etc. I feel so bad for him. As I type this he is on the couch, watching mindless cartoons and his fever shoots up.

I have also had an interesting month, health wise. As mentioned in a previous post, I feel like I am having attacks on a continual basis. I told my doctor and they send me for some blood work. A few minor things turned up, nothing too exciting. I still am exhausted all the time . . . I still feel as if I am having an attack. I think I am just getting better at ignoring it. I was at Barnes & Noble yesterday (love that store!) and I decided to check out the books on MS. I usually don’t spend too much time looking at the books on the subject. Let’s be honest, I live it, do I really need to read about it? When I was diagnosed 14 years ago, the internet was in its infancy and we only had books for information. I remember being petrified, reading about the prognosis for the disease that I had. If I believed all of that, I would be on my last legs, at least be in a wheelchair by now. I think all of the negative stuff that we read in books, and don’t get me started on the internet, if we believed all that we read, we would give up and bury our heads in the sand. I know I felt that way when I was reading those books that were supposed to help me, all of those years ago. it would have been easy to give up and just prepare myself to go down the path that they had already indicated for us. So anyway, I was at Barnes & Noble and decided to check out the books on MS. I have to tell you, I have never been so incensed in my life. The books are STILL all doom and gloom. “Be prepared for bowel and bladder problems, mobility problems, cognitive problems . . .” it went on and on. I am not saying these are things we should ignore. They are a possibility – maybe a probability, but I found nothing positive in any of the books. Nothing telling people, especially the newly diagnosed “This is not a death sentence. You can live you life the way you did before your diagnosis, but let’s create a plan for the future.”

I work as a peer advocate for the MS Society, to help the newly diagnosed understand that a diagnosis of MS is not a death sentence. Yes, it will changes our lives. But we need to understand that WE are responsible for the path we go down, not our disease.

So I’ll get off my soapbox. For now.

K

One thought on “Too much information?

Leave a Reply

