Holiday happenings


Well, the holidays are here and I am having another flare up of my MS. This is the yearly ritual, although last year was the first year it stayed at bay. I was really thinking I would make it thru this year unscathed, but no such luck. I read every article I could find on how to minimize stress. Yeah, right. The doctor’s waiting room is packed with others just like me, where the holiday stress has taken its toll. So all of the upcoming parties, festivities and gatherings are on the back burner as I rest and try to recover. Yesterday I had to go for the 3rd day of treatment (IV steriod) and as I drove home thru the most horrible snow and treacherous roads, the song came on the radio, “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of Year.” Ironic. In some ways it is a wonderful time: the scents, the excitement, the wonder. But in other ways, it stinks. Luckily, I just got my cards out, did my shopping on line, and am not doing any entertaining. The manic highs from the meds has started me on a frenetic house cleaning schedule and many knitting projects in the works. I can’t sit still, but am too tired to do anything! So hopefully Santa will bring a little good health. I am lucky to have my family and friends, so I can’t complain too much.

Here’s to good cheer and health for the new year.

Leave a Reply

