Out of the mouths of babes


Last night I was cuddling with my 5-year-old. I said to him, “This is my favorite part of the day. A good cuddle. I’ll miss this when you’re too big to cuddle.” And he said, “Mommy, I’ll always cuddle with you. Even when I am 60!” I laughed and told him, “Well, Mommy would be pretty old by then. I would be 93.” He was quiet for a few seconds and then he said, “Wow. That is old. You would be awful wrinkly.” I laughed. But I quickly stopped laughing when he said, “But you are wrinkly now. And you aren’t even close to 93 years old yet.”

So I laughed, though not as much, and put him to bed. I immediately went to the mirror to check my wrinkles. Yup. There they were in all of their wrinkly nasty glory, staring back at me, mocking me.

I have a birthday next month. I will probably get a new wrinkle for every bite of damn cake I eat. Damn wrinkles. And the little 5-year-old is going to be in big trouble. : )

K

4 thoughts on “Out of the mouths of babes

  1. That story started off so sweet and then he had to go spoil the moment by insulting you.

    Like all good mothers, it’s time to bottle up your rage and frustration. Since you’re not able to take it out on the very person who insulted you, you need to tuck away all your anger and disappointment… which will ironically result in yet more stress wrinkles.

    My advice: begin drinking to cope. That’s always a good way to handle things.

  2. All kidding aside, I’m sure your son is very sweet, and he certainly meant well. Enjoy the cuddling while it lasts.

    And judging by your picture, you look fine. Don’t worry about the wrinkles at all. 🙂

    Cheers.

  3. I agree he meant well. But he knew he was treading on thin ice because then he would laugh and say, “No really. I’m kidding. Well, not really.”

    I’ll still take the cuddles while they last!

Leave a Reply

