Girls night-out


I am the first one to admit that I can be a tad anti-social. I feel like I am turning into my mother. It is getting where I just don’t want to do things anymore. Not the stuff I enjoy like riding or painting, but going out, being social, having to get ready to go somewhere . . .  that is what makes me cringe. Am I lazy? A homebody? Or am I getting old?

I am not a cook. I can follow a recipe, I can do the basics, but I have no desire to spend my day in the kitchen. A friend sent me an invitation for a girls-night at this place called Make and Take Gourmet. You choose 6 meals, they provide the ingredients, instructions, pans, and you make these meals. You take them home, freeze them, eat them at your leisure. So when she invited me, my first thought was, “I am going to pay money to go stand in a kitchen and cook?” But I had heard it was fun, so I signed on. Plus you can bring wine, so I thought, ” Why not?”

As the day approached, I was kind of regretting that I had said yes. All of the people I knew who were going were great people, so I convinced myself it would be fun. So last night as seven PM approached, I reluctantly got ready, put on some makeup, grabbed a bottle of wine and headed out.

It was a blast! I had so much fun and really enjoyed the process. It was easy, I didn’t have to clean up (the best part) and I stocked my freezer with  some wonderful looking meals. There were 11 of us, and it was really a good time. Girls-night out takes on a different meaning as you get older.

So I guess I need to push my rear end in gear every once in a while and be social. There were alot of laughs and alot of fun. Lesson learned. Good friends and laughs can do wonders for our psyche. And wine helps too! : )

PS: I was home by 9!

2 thoughts on “Girls night-out

  1. Well… Have you actually tasted any of the dishes yet? Sounds like a lot of fun. The in/out in 2 hours speaks volumes for the service.

Leave a Reply

